Where Children Sleep

Leila Cook, my crafty cousin in Memphis, Tennessee, turned me onto the website of photographer James Mollison the other day. His work has been widely published by Colors, The New York Times Magazine, the Guardian magazine, The Paris Review, The New Yorker and Le Monde.  Leila was particularly moved by one series about children’s rights that Mollison produced for Fabrica.

On his website he writes, “I found myself thinking about my bedroom: how significant it was during my childhood, and how it reflected what I had and who I was.”  The result is ‘Where Children Sleep’ – stories of diverse children around the world, told through portraits and pictures of their bedrooms.  You can check out the series and the rest of Mollison’s work at http://www.jamesmollison.com/wherechildrensleep.php.

- Jeremy

3 thoughts on “Where Children Sleep

  1. I remember being in kindergarten or something when my mom allowed me to pick out my own comforter for my bed. I remember going to the store and choosing so so so carefully. I was very aware of the importance and the adultness of the decision. I chose a white comforter with pink and purple polka dotted cats on it (kinda weird cause my grown up self is certainly not a cat person).

Leave a Reply

